Top 11 Help Desk Specialist Certifications

They have computer networking classes that teach about LANs and WANs as well as introduce the network architecture and protocols used in security. You can also take courses to understand the basic structure of both wired and wireless networks and their protocols. There also have Microsoft Digital Literacy courses that can teach you the risks and threats to computer security and privacy, and more. This indicates you have the skills to successfully do the job you are applying for.

  • This includes a breakdown of the help desk tools they can expect to see when working in a support role.
  • HDI Customer Service Representative (HDI-CSR) is a certification program that provides individuals with the knowledge and skills to become successful customer service representatives.
  • We’ll deep dive on cloud so that you’ll understand everything from typical cloud infrastructure setups to how to manage cloud resources.

It usually takes about two weeks for an appointment to be scheduled after registration has been completed. CompTIA A+ Certification is related to the competency of computer service professionals in configuration, maintaining, upgrading and operating computer hardware and operating systems. While the certification is vendor-neutral, it focuses on PC hardware and peripherals, mobile device hardware, networking and troubleshooting hardware, and network connectivity issues.

Best help desk manager certifications

To get certified you must first register with CompTIA and then book an appointment at a testing center near you. After passing the exam, you will receive your certificate in the mail within 4-6 weeks. This IT support training is geared towards beginners, so no prior experience is required. It is suitable for fresh graduates entering the support field or current IT help desk technicians looking to expand their knowledge. Help Desks play a pivotal role in your support team’s ability to provide a quality customer experience. You may already have some qualifications to become a help desk technician today.

How To Become An IT Service Desk Manager – TechRound

How To Become An IT Service Desk Manager.

Posted: Wed, 17 May 2023 07:00:00 GMT [source]

Once you have passed all nine exams, you will receive an official MTA certificate from Microsoft. The certificate is valid for two years and can be renewed by taking any one of the nine exams again. The MTA certification consists of nine exams covering topics such as Windows Operating System Fundamentals, Security Fundamentals, Networking Fundamentals, and Software Development Fundamentals. For IT support professionals who want to validate their expertise and stand out in the job market, pursuing more advanced certifications like ‘CISSP’ or ‘HDI-CSR’ could prove beneficial. It also delves into best practices for handling tickets and provides a basic understanding of networking.

Do You Really Need a Help Desk Manager Certificate?

Please check the retired exams and retired certifications pages for specific retirement dates. Help desk specialist certifications allow job seekers to demonstrate their competency as an help desk specialist to employers. However, not all help desk specialist certifications provide the same value for job seekers. In order to take the exam you must first register with Pearson VUE online or by phone.

It usually takes around 6-12 months to prepare for the CCNA exams depending on your experience level and how much time you can dedicate to studying. You can find many online resources such as practice tests and study guides that will help you prepare for the exams. Additionally, there are several training courses available help desk engineer from Cisco or third-party providers that can help you gain the necessary knowledge needed to pass the exams. HDI Desktop Support Technician (HDI-DST) is a certification that validates an individual’s knowledge and skills in providing technical support for desktop computers, laptops, and other related hardware.

Leave a Reply